The end of a busy week

by Sarah Luna

Well, this semester got really busy, really fast. These past two weeks have been dedicated to numerous group projects, reports, and presentations. Luckily, I only had a biochemistry exam to worry about.

Biochemistry is certainly fascinating, but it takes a lot of time to sit down and actually understand. Right now, we’re learning about serine proteases. Exam II frustrated me since our class has essentially had three professors for the past few weeks due to Dr. Miles being gone. He tore his retina and had to spend the past 5 1/5 weeks lying face down so that the air bubble in his eye wouldn’t oxidize his lens. He was just as happy to be back as we were to have him back. Back to the exam…the highest grade was a 70. That depressed me until I received this email from my TA:

Hello Sarah,

I wanted to congratulate you on making an A on Exam II. Seriously, you
were one of the few (and I mean VERY few) who didnt disappoint me on
this exam and I couldnt be more proud of you.

Keep up the good work!

-Merrick

…I’m guessing there was quite the substantial curve. Allyson and I are in the same course, and we both agreed that we would fail without Merrick’s help. Even with his help, we dedicated 7 hours of our Saturday to preparing for that test.

My nutrition classes continue to interest me. But GOODNESS, how many projects can be piled on me at once! Last week, I turned in my food insecurity project and a 444 case study. I’ve practically lived in West Campus Library. Thankfully, I have been blessed with good groups, and we have been able to make progress. My 405 group has a 35 minute presentation of our patient this Tuesday. My 430W group is currently working on a program proposal for an after-school intervention. And my 444 group just met yesterday to discuss a paper detailing the effects of alcohol on myocardial infarction.

Socially, not much is going on now that I’m not in Lechner–not that I really have time for it this semester. I have, however, started taking a Waltz/Foxtrot class and a Viennese Waltz class, which I’m really enjoying. Tomorrow, I’m going to the Lechner/Clements Halloween Dance, a party at Jamie’s house, and Midnight Yell! I don’t know what I’ll be dressing up as yet. Lara is in Las Vegas for a conference, Anthony was a contented protester from xkcd, Tony is going to be a burrito, Drew is being a party pooper and not dressing up, and I’m not sure about the others.

I’m about to watch Mary Poppins! Then I need to write minutes for my group meetings and rehearse my research presentation for tonight.

