Spain!

by Sarah Luna

I’m off to Santiago de Compostela, Spain until January 10th. I am so nervous. As most of you know, I’m taking this trip as part of my Undergraduate Fellows Research. I am starting to wonder if I can handle this big of a project; it is so much more than anything I have ever done. I’m up at 1:30am because I can’t sleep. I keep thinking I’ll forget something crucial. My worst fear is that I’ll come back without having gotten enough information.

To sort of catch people up, I’m studying the social and religious continuities and change along the Camino de Santiago. On this trip, I’m examining the contemporary issues facing the Camino: commercialization, secularization, and urbanization. I’ll also be interviewing the pilgrims dedicated enough to walk the Camino in winter as well as shopkeepers, museum docents, and tourists.

I’m keeping both a written journal and a video journal of this trip. The video journal is for you. I am horrible at talking to this little bit of plastic, but hopefully I’ll improve. Meanwhile, I hope my awkwardness provides you with some entertainment. I’m sure it will.

I’m trying to figure out the best way of doing this. I anticipate visiting an internet cafe every couple of days, so I should (maybe?) be able to upload video. I think I’ll put the first two in this note and any subsequent video in comments. I may be a little optimistic about this whole video journal thing. We’ll see what happens.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwYMHyTYkzA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHUYNbgH17c

And with that, I’m off!
Buen Camino!

