Coming up for air

by Sarah Luna

I haven’t updated in a while because for the past 2 weeks every spare moment has been spent on my thesis. I had to email a draft to my professor yesterday and have to start working on a presentation for Thursday. So the next two days will be thesis-free.

So far, I am enjoying all of my classes (with the exception of Human Diseases). The upperlevel classes are clinically based and very interesting. Today in lab, we measured blood pressure and triglyceride levels (my resting BP was 96/56). For my aerobic movement class, we calculated our target heart rates using the Karvonen formula.

THR = ((HRmax − HRrest) × %Intensity) + HRrest

In other words, your target heart rate equals your maximum heart rate (220-age) minus your resting heart rate times the intensity of the workout (between 60-80% for burning fat) plus your resting heart rate.

My resting heart rate (taken over a period of 3 days is 50 beats per minute) so my target heart zone is 23-31 beats per 10 seconds. While working out, look at your watch for 10 seconds and take your pulse to see if you are in your target heart zone.

Outside of classes, I have been doing fun things like attending Cirque Dreams. Next week Ruben Studdard and Frenchie Davis are coming to A&M as part of Ain’t Misbehavin’. I will be going to that as well.

