Hello again!

by Sarah Luna

It’s been some time since I last wrote here. I’m hoping my schedule will allow me to update more frequently this semester.

Today was the first day of my last semester at A&M. Despite only taking 8 hours, I hope to have a semester packed full of interesting and stimulating experiences. I spent an hour today browsing the different A&M calendars and planning which events to go to. But I’m getting ahead of myself…
Classes first.
Genetics at 8am…not many classes can justify such an early morning existence. This class, however, promises to be entertaining. Professor Ellison cuts a rotund figure in a pants suit that should require suspenders. He is quite convinced of the relevance of genetics in both nutrition and kinesiology as well as other disciplines that require the course. When he talks, his eyes bulge out and his lips purse…much like a frog’s. While the lecture today was basic (rules of probability), I have a good feeling that his future lectures will be quite fascinating. I also appreciate his promise to “do” genetics. “This isn’t a memorization class.”
No genetics lab this week.
Food Bacteriology. By all accounts an easy course, Food Bac is going to be a ton of fun! I only had the lab section today, but Professor Taylor seems like a very enthusiastic teacher. It also helps that my good friend Wesley is my lab partner. She and I will make the lab awesome. Our lab is in the basement of Kleburg – someplace I’d never been before. We will have to come in on off days to finish up some labs (living organisms run on their own schedules), but we’ll be working with some cool stuff.
One of my goals for the semester is to cook decent food for myself since I have the time now. I made chili last night and turned it into wraps for lunch today. For dinner tonight, I tried a new recipe: Chicken with Honey-Orange Sauce. The sauce didn’t thicken up as much as I wanted it to, but I think I know how to fix that next time. Now the kitchen has the incredible smell of oranges, honey, and cinnamon. I ate it with brown rice and carrots.
The Rec Center offers free classes all this week, so I’m about to head back to campus for a kickboxing class followed by a jump rope class. The jump rope class should be really fun. The instructor is a competitive jump roper.
I think that’s it for the first day. I’ll write back soon!
