New Idea

by Sarah Luna

I’ve been saying for a long time how I wanted to eat healthier and expand my knowledge and appreciation of food. And this semester has definitely seen a marked improvement in that area in my life.

I need to live the major(s). Kinesiology is almost down. Physical activity has always been important to me, and I’ve had the opportunity to teach different formats at the Rec. This summer I’ll be teaching yoga, kickboxing, water aerobics, and guts and glutes.

Now it’s time to live Nutrition. I need something radical. I’ve added new recipes to my rotation and branched out a little…but it’s time for something big. Something that actively requires my dietetic skills. A plan.

40 days. This is a biblically significant time that is still used today for fasts. My 40 days won’t be a fast per se but rather an active appreciation of the blessing of food. 4o days of home-cooked food. Nothing else. Four, ten-day rotations that are nutritionally sound and incorporate a huge variety of unexplored foods.

This will require a lot of planning. Nutritional menu planning (for those not acquainted with it) can be a pain. Calories must be matched with activity level and presence/absence of disease. Nutrients must be provided adequately and be appropriate for stage of life.  No repeats of any food for three days. Proper servings of vegetables, fruits, grains, meats, etc.

I’m still exploring this idea and tentatively planning a menu. Thoughts are welcome.

