most important tasks

by Sarah Luna

What is most important for me to accomplish daily? Does it always get accomplished?

Often these tasks get overlooked or pushed until the end of the day. One of the chapters of The Power of Less suggested that we list our three most important tasks (MITs) of the day and accomplish them before anything else. Notice it only says three. This means we have to discern what is most important out of the myriad tasks we want to accomplish that day.

I’m trying to simplify my life one step at a time. I’m trying to create the habit of writing down my (no more than) three MITs in the evening, and accomplishing them first thing in the morning before I check my email.

Here’s my log so far.

Sunday
MITs: go to church, deposit rent refund check
I woke up on Sunday at 8:30, went to church at 9, deposited the check at 10:15, and then came home and checked my email.

Monday: didn’t work since I overslept…I had to be at work at 5:45am.

Tuesday
MITs: sort my clothes into pack, donate, and resale piles; fill car with gasoline
I woke up at 7am, accomplished these tasks, and went to work at 8.

Wednesday
MITs: mail rent to Ithaca, process Gmail inbox to zero
These got accomplished at lunch time and first thing after work.

Tomorrow
MITs: take car to get oil changed and engine inspected; braid my hair nicely and wear a little bit of makeup (I have a patient evaluation tomorrow, so I should look a little more put together)
Plan: wake up at 7am, shower, take car to shop at 8:15, work at 8:30.

This is my effort to get tasks taken care of early on in the morning. My current challenge is not looking at email 20 times a day. I don’t need to. It’s a bad habit. It needs to go.

What are your MITs?

