my favorite books

by Sarah Luna

Tonight is my last night in Texas for a really long time. Tomorrow I go home to Camarillo, and then I fly directly to New York to start my graduate studies. No more Texas.

My younger friends met me at Coldstone for one final ice cream. Any time a bunch of nerds comes together, the conversation will be stimulating. Dylan sparked a discussion on books by bringing up Atlas Shrugged. I could talk forever about books. I had bags of books in my car (along with everything else I own) that I had tried to sell. I let them look through, and they were delighted to keep them.

I promised them I would post a list of my favorite books.

In no particular order:

Utopian/Dystopian

  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Island by Aldous Huxley
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • “The Last Question” by Isaac Asimov
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Historical Fiction

  • Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett (medieval England)
  • World Without End by Ken Follett
  • All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque (WWI)
  • Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières (WWII)

Social Justice

  • Ramona by Helen Hunt Jackson (plight of California Indians and the end of Mexican California)
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn (nonfiction)

Classics

  • Persuasion by Jane Austen
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Contemporary

  • Life Expectancy by Dean Koontz (funny and scary at the same time)
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  • The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans

Theological

  • Contact by Carl Sagan
  • Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
  • Death Comes to the Archbishop by Willa Cather

Self-Help

  • The Power of Less by Leo Babauta
  • Beautiful Girlhood revised by Karen Andreola

Obviously, some of these books could fall under multiple categories. As I looked over my list, I noticed a decidedly feminine bias. I’ll try to think of more gender neutral books and update soon.

