first days

by Sarah Luna

In bullet form:

  • Pop and Sam arrived Tuesday night
  • We went to the DNS welcome banquet where they got to meet the entire department
  • classes started Wednesday
  • currently I’ve visited “Nutrition, Health, and Society” (I’m TA), Statistics, and “Social Theory and nutrition”.
  • Wednesday (9/1) I get internet set up at my apartment
  • Pop and Sam built shelves. I now have a ton of storage.
  • bus is convenient…sometimes
  • I have access to the DNS computers and copiers
  • I have my own office in B14 Savage Hall.
  • I bought a mattress, bed frame, box spring, papasan chair, desk, desk chair and two file cabinets from Craigslist.
  • I bought a gorgeous table from a garage sale.
  • about to buy a wooden cart for kitchen prep stuff.
  • still need groceries
  • My dad can build anything
  • My brother is a good sport and has spatial awareness.
  • I think I’ve memorized Starbucks’ playlist

This week has been crazy. Dessert party on Sunday with the nutrition grad students.

Exhausted.

