Tis the season

by Sarah Luna

I have a confession to make. I have been listening to Christmas music since August. This exasperated one of my good friends who insists that the day after Thanksgiving is the soonest one can bring out the Christmas music.

So in honor of the official opening of the Christmas music season, I opened up grooveshark and searched for my favorite carol “O Holy Night”. I was looking for the version by Aaron Neville, but as I scanned the results I found an acoustic version by Dream Theater.

Dream Theater is a progressive metal band. And an amazing one at that. A good friend of mine had given me their Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory for Christmas a few years ago. I was confused about why he thought that would be a good gift because I’m not really a metal person (shocking, I know). But friends have a funny way of knowing when it’s time for me to try something new. I loved it. (perpetual favorites: “The Spirit Carries On“, “Wait for Sleep”, “Wither“, “I Walk Beside You”, and “Pull Me Under”)

But I’m getting off track. Here’s their version of “O Holy Night”. Granted, it’s not for everyone, but give it try. [Start at 0:30…I can’t tell if he says a bad word before then. :/ ]

