Working on it

by Sarah Luna

That seems to be a theme of this semester.

I’m working on it.

I’m not the student I thought I was. I’m not the person I thought I was. And while I never thought I was perfect, I thought I was pretty good. : )

With 24 hours left of my semester, I’m taking a moment amidst the madness to reflect.

This semester has had the steepest learning curve of any I’ve ever experienced. It has been the most intellectually humbling. It has revealed the most uncomfortable truths. Everyday is a battle for my self-esteem.

Yesterday through a closed window, I saw a single snowflake caught on the strand of a spider’s web whipping wildly in the wind. It was so tiny and its position so tenuous. But its struggle was a sight of beauty.

That’s how I feel right now. I am tiny. My life is unique, and fragile, and insignificant. But even in its imperfection, it is still beautiful.

And as my flaws become illuminated as dirt upon new snow, all I can say is

I’m working on it.

