Softly call the Muster, let comrade answer “Here”

by Sarah Luna

I’ve been thinking about Muster a lot this week. This year will be the first year I observe Muster away from Texas A&M. I tried to find a Muster near me, but there are none within 100 miles.

I think it is the thought of fellowship that make me yearn for Muster. Muster honors every Aggie that has died in the past year and, for present students, reaffirms our purpose to be citizens worthy of honor.

I took the above picture on my visit to A&M over this Christmas break. Family members of the deceased light a candle in remembrance and then pass the light along–thus pausing to reflect and then taking action to move on.

Remembering each tiny light peek through the darkness in Reed Arena brings to mind this call:

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Even in grief, even in isolation, even in despair, even (and especially) in the darkest of times, we are called to be light.

The visual is only part of the beauty. For each person lost, the name is called, and friends and family answers “here”. Here’s erupt from pockets of people like an audible flash. The strength and location of the responses differ for each name, but there is always a “here”.

We do not live our lives in isolation. Whether it is big or small or here or there, our impact exists.

Still the question remains: Am I doing what I am called to do?

