Days like today

by Sarah Luna

make me think I’m home. Days like today have color and sunshine and warmth. Days like today inspire me to keep running shoes in my office just in case.

I never thought I’d feel such joy over 44 degrees.  I check the weather in Ithaca every morning before I leave my house. When I saw the sunshine icon, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I plan my life around sunshine now. I’ve even skipped classes for sunshine.

Looking out over the hills of Cornell, I can see Cayuga Lake in the distance. It reminds me of my beaches.

If it’s the beaches
If it’s the beaches’ sands you want
Then you will have them
If it’s the mountains’ bending rivers
Then you will have them
If it’s the wish to run away
Then I will grant it
Take whatever you think of
While I go gas up the truck
Pack the old love letters up
We will read them when
we forget why we left here

“If it’s the beaches” – The Avett Brothers

Days like today are beautiful.

