Collection of happy things

by Sarah Luna

Every once in a while, it’s good to stop and appreciate the happy things. Now is one of those times.

I have a house and roommates (!) for next year. Living alone has been wonderful. I’ve learned a lot about who I am when no one is watching. However, I am really excited to have roommates again and a real house again. I am thankful for less rent, less utilities, a beautiful kitchen, the ability to do laundry without walking through snow, and the company of two fabulous women.

I’m going to India this summer. I still can’t believe this is happening. I raided the library for books about India.

I heard the bells tonight. I just came back in from listening to the six o’clock concert by the Cornell Chimesmasters. This was my favorite part of the day last semester, and I need to get back into the habit of listening to them.

Every other day is gorgeous. One of the older graduate students told me during the fall to expect rain or sleet or snow every other day from December to April. So far that’s been pretty accurate. However, I was completely unprepared for how stunning the intermittent sunshine could be. It is still cold and icy, but at least it is beautiful.

I have awesome friends. I know this is obvious, but it’s good to actively remind myself. Had a long phone chat on Saturday night with Lara that cheered me up. And I found out yesterday that Drew had transcribed the letters I had written to him over the past three years. They were pretty hilarious. I ranged from verbosely formal, to drama queen, to theoretical, to travelogue-y, to ridiculous.

I am going to bed before midnight tonight! Yessssssssssssssssss. I could list so many more, but I have 3 minutes to get into my jammies and go to sleep!

