What I did this weekend

by Sarah Luna

Wow, I was out of town for two days, and I come back to 20-some emails about people commenting on this blog. I’m glad you find it interesting. I feel almost bad now for posting something so “everyday” as an account of my weekend, but a ballroom competition is pretty cool, right?

This weekend I competed at the USA Dance 2011 Mid-Atlantic Championships. We left Ithaca in the midst of a blizzard and were pleasantly surprised by sunshine in Maryland.

Standard Partner and I placed 6th in Wallz/Quickstep! Since this is probably our last time competing this semester, we just said to each other: “Let’s go out there and make this our best dance yet!” And we did.

Even though the focus this weekend was dance, I found myself reflecting on the themes of trust and respect and communication.  I think it has something to do with being a follower–I have to trust that my partner will look out for me. And that is very difficult both on and off the dance floor. I’m sure I’ll more to say about that, but for now I’ll leave it at that. I have a lot to catch up on for this week.

Good luck to Lara and her kids tomorrow!

