Stuck in colder weather

by Sarah Luna

My alarm clock is set to the country station. I think it’s funny that I wake up to country because I miss Texas. Of course, country on New York stations is different than Texas country, but it still makes me feel like maybe it won’t be 18 degrees when I step outside.

So of course this song by Zac Brown Band is particularly evocative.

He said I wanna see you again
But I’m stuck in colder weather
Maybe tomorrow will be better
Can I call you then
She said you’re a ramblin’ man
And you ain’t ever gonna change
You gotta gypsy soul to blame
And you were born for leavin’

And of course when I was heading north from NYC back to Ithaca, I had “I and Love and You” playing through my head.

Dumbed down and numbed by time and age
the dream to catch the world the cage
the highway sets the traveler’s stage
all exits look the same

And then I wonder when I’ll stop moving and when I’ll ever get home. California to Texas to Ithaca to India. What next?

I wish that I could see you again, but I’m stuck in colder weather.

