Is this home

by Sarah Luna

Is this home?
Is this where I should learn to be happy?
~Belle

As I was driving on an errand today, the thought suddenly hit me: “I’m actually living. This is my life.” I know it seems like an obvious thought, but it’s odd to think that I’m living the answer to the question: “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Starting in June, I’ll be moving to the house I expect to live in for the next five years. Life is settling into a system here. I have my core friends and my social acquaintances and my work acquaintances. As of last week, I could picture the next five years here.

However, I keep getting reminders that life is not constant. I look around at my freshmen friends now; I will see each of them graduate before I do. I look at my work friends; some will be leaving soon for years-long research. I remember the group of incoming students and wonder what the department will be like with 18 more people. I feel overwhelmed when I think about this too much, “but then as my life has been altered once it can change again.”

I’m not ready for things to change again, but I see monumental change ahead. Time to take a deep breath and forge ahead.

 

