Four weeks left

by Sarah Luna

There are four weeks left of classes. I have one presentation to give next week, one lecture to give the following week, two more macronutrients assignments, two statistics assignments, one final to take, and one final to give and correct.

That’s it.

Of course, this is me thinking in “undergrad mode”–when my life was simple, when it was just studying what other people had to teach me. This doesn’t take into account my ongoing work. Data-analysis, literature reviewing, networking. Getting ideas for the dissertation. Sometimes I forget that this is why I am here–not to take classes and learn and teach, but to create knowledge.

A PhD is a “small but measurable contribution to the current body of knowledge”. I will make known something that was unknown before. I still don’t really know what that something is.

It would be more accurate to say “four years left” and most accurate not to count down at all. Counting down implies an end. There is no end to the pursuit of knowledge. There will always be something I do not know.

There are, however, four weeks left of being the new kid. The first year. The one who doesn’t know what she’s doing. After this, it is my turn to help the incoming class and my turn to know what I’m doing.

I can’t wait.

