Kyrie eleison

by Sarah Luna

Last night I was privileged to hear Bach’s Mass in B Minor performed by the Cornell University Chorus and Glee Club with orchestra and guest soloists Judith Kellock, Lianne Coble, Ivy Walz, David Parks, and Jake Gardner.

Let me just say that I am so thankful to have taken Music Appreciation with Ms. Rogers at Pacifica. Her amazing knowledge and passion for Western music particularly enhanced my listening experience. I’m glad that she emphasized the structure and meaning of the Latin Mass and the role of music in worship.

I don’t have the words to adequately describe how incredible it was.

The first Kyrie eleison hit me with such emotion that tears came to my eyes and shivers ran down my entire body. I don’t know if any other phrase has ever left me so breathless.

To get a pale idea, here is the first Kyrie eleison. Before listening, turn up the volume the entire way, take a few steps away from your computer, and remember that kyrie eleison means “Lord, have mercy”.

Incredible.

