Life post

by Sarah Luna

It’s been a while since I’ve just written about life. To me, the vicissitudes of graduate school seem ordinary–like they would be boring for people to read. The past few weeks have almost been monotonous. Each day is filled with work that has to be done, papers that must be graded, assignments that are due. Even though each day brings different challenges, even the differences seem the same now. This reminds me of a poem Gran sent me:

At the still point of the turning world. Neither flesh nor fleshless;
Neither from nor towards; at the still point, there the dance is,
But neither arrest nor movement. And do not call it fixity,
Where past and future are gathered. Neither movement from nor towards,
Neither ascent nor decline. Except for the point, the still point,
There would be no dance, and there is only the dance.

~ TS Elliot

Speaking of dance, SP and I danced at Harvard last weekend. This was our last competition dancing together, and we did really well. We advanced to the semi-finals in Tango and Viennese Waltz. The entire team cheered for us each time we made another lap around the dance floor, and we got many compliments about our dancing (apparently our Viennese waltz had a bit of contra body motion!).

Tonight, I went to Standard practice alone (SP was out of town). Usually it depresses me to go to a practice alone, and I wouldn’t have gone tonight except that a friend needed a ride (I’ll call him Awesome Hair because that will amuse him if he randomly finds this blog). However, I am so glad I went because our group went salsa dancing at the Big Red Barn afterwards, and I had so much fun. I feel like I’m really friends with my teammates now.

I gave my friend a ride home, and then he said something really thought-provoking: “Is it strange I am trying to figure out how we became friends? I find friendships just pop up one day, and you’re not sure how it happens.”

So now I’m thinking about my Ithaca friends. For SP, I can name the exact hour we became friends. For AH, it was a very gradual process. I’m not even sure how it happened. And of course for my nutrition cohort, it was February 19, 2010, when we met for the first time.

So that’s my life right now. Nothing too exciting. This upcoming week is the last week of classes. And then two weeks of finals. And then home for Sam’s graduation. Busy, busy, busy.

