Metaphors: the Constitution

by Sarah Luna

A US History course would be incomplete without an in-depth look at the Constitution because of its crucial role in the definition and function of this government. I had been required to memorize parts of the Constitution in the 6th grade, and I was already familiar with the content by the time I got to high school. My high school teacher, however, stressed that knowing the words was insufficient. In order to truly learn about the Constitution, we had to study the Supreme Court. In other words, the content of the Constitution must be studied and understood in light of its interpretation. Thus we began 200 years of court cases.

Now substitute the Constitution with the Bible.

I had memorized passages of the Bible every week from kindergarten to sixth grade. I have had class after class delving into the Bible. While I am very grateful for this foundation, I am beginning to realize that my Bible education is lacking. I have not studied the human interpretation. This begs the question: “Well is it better to study God or people’s interpretation of God?” Before where I would have simply answered on the side of the former, I see the merit in studying the interpretation.  Most of this springs out of a new desire to connect with my Christian family. Before, I was focused on my own vertical growth; now I am focused on horizontal connection with my peers. But how does my family worship? How does the Orthodox part of my family worship? How does the Catholic part of my family worship? How does the Lutheran part worship? Or the Methodist part? Or the Baptist part? Or the Episcopalian part? Or the Presbyterian part? Or the other other parts?

because I’m curious, and I want to know. Thus I begin 2000 years of history. : )

If you’re in the mood for an even better metaphor, you should look at my friend Sarah’s post about the differences between the Catholic and Protestant perspectives. Seriously, this is the clearest I’ve ever seen them presented.

