Best Chocolate Cake Ever

by Sarah Luna

I have used this recipe exclusively for the past two years whenever I’ve wanted a chocolate cake. Quick, easy, perfectly moist every time. AND it never makes that annoying hump in the oven.

I was content simply to hunt for the recipe online whenever I needed it. However, I recently searched for it and only came up with a broken link. I panicked: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, THAT WAS THE BEST CAKE EVER. I CAN’T LOSE IT.  Thankfully, I found it again, but one can never be too careful.

With that I present The best chocolate cake ever (adapted from Hershey’s recipe).

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • chocolate chips
  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a 13×9 baking pan.
  2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl.
  3. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat together while heating 1 cup of water in the microwave for 2 minutes.
  4. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.
  5. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  6. Sprinkle chocolate chips on the hot cake, and let them melt to form a chocolate casing.
  7. Forget cooling. Just try not to burn yourself while picking it out of the pan.

Enjoy!

