News and the graduate life

by Sarah Luna

It is an unfortunate truth that in all my worrying and scrambling and striving to create the perfect research to solve every nutrition problem ever I neglect to observe the world around me. There are times I feel so disconnected from everything outside of Savage and MVR.

I didn’t know about the US debt crisis until Drew asked me about it.
I didn’t know about the shooting and bombing in Norway till a week after it occurred.
I didn’t know about the famine in Somalia until my lab mate mentioned it a few days ago.
I still don’t really know what’s going on in Egypt.

To help myself, I subscribed to Lens by The New York Times which has a “Pictures of the Day” collection of current events. Not only does this blog offer some stunning photography, it helps give me a sense of new events and ongoing situations.

