My week in a blog post

by Sarah Luna

This week has been somewhat unusual in very fun and unexpected ways. I started the week feeling worried, stressed, overwhelmed, and cold. I’m sure I could attribute parts of my mood to the shifting weather, the ever-increasing amount of work on my plate, and the uncertainty of my academic path at this point. Or I could simply say I was depressed for no good reason at all.

But then my mama came to visit me (with orders from my papa to spoil me and feed me), and we spent Sunday through Thursday eating, shopping, and hanging out together. She got to see my house, my room, my roommates, and the glory that is Ithaca in the fall. I showed her the Farmers’ Market, the lake, the Commons, the Hogwarts building on campus, and the amazing view from Libe Slope (at the sunset Chimes Concert, too). She even got to watch a dance practice and meet my partners. I hadn’t seen my mom since June, and it was really nice to have her here.

I dropped her off at the airport Thursday, and she made it home safe despite it being the first snowfall of the season.

I returned to campus with the feeling of impending disaster at the thought of all the work I failed to accomplish. I spent the rest of the night split between dancing and cobbling together a presentation for the next morning.

I gave my presentation Friday, took two samba lessons with my latin partner (which were AMAZING), and was just wondering if I were going to have a lame Friday night when I got a text from SP inviting me to Real Life (Cornell’s version of Breakaway). That boy is the definition of a godsend. I ran home, drove back up to campus, and had a lovely time. It’s times like this that I realize just how strange my praise and worship upbringing was. I think I’ll extrapolate in a separate post because it’s funny. ๐Ÿ™‚ After that, the group carved pumpkins together and stacked them on the statue of AD White, Cornell’s first president. Then SP and I hung out for a bit. Now that we’re not partners anymore, I don’t get to see him as much as I’d like. We explored the recently opened architecture building, sat in the glass elevator room, and people-watched all the crazy people walking to Collegetown in costume.

Each Halloween I come up with an awesome costume idea, try to plan it all out, and then change my mind at the last minute. This year I decided I wanted to be Cher from Burlesque. Specifically, I wanted to be her in this amazing musical number. I was going to curl my hair all crazy. I bought these awesome 4″ high boots second hand. It was going to be awesome. But Saturday afternoon came, and after three awesome Latin lessons, I had no energy to do anything. And then I checked the weather, and it was supposed to in the 30s. There are two rules for my Halloween costumes: I refuse to be anything resembling slutty, and I refuse to be cold.

So here’s who I was. ๐Ÿ™‚

Normally, Halloween isn’t a big deal, but this year I got invited to fourย parties and attended two. My costume was instantly recognizable, and I got to act like a sexy educational villain.

I’m not sure if I’m going out tomorrow night for Halloween proper, but I’d say this holiday was a success.

