Back in Texas

by Sarah Luna

I celebrated the New Year in San Antonio with some of my best friends from college.

We met up in San Antonio and walked the River Walk.

Lara surprised the winter birthdays with a Justin Beiber cookie cake. We celebrated Jamie and Rebeca’s birthdays last year, but they included me this time since I’ll be on a different continent for mine.

Of course we had to visit the Alamo.

And finally welcomed the new year at a Puerto Rican party with (as Jamie puts it) glamorous women in glamorous dresses with glamorous shoes! …and singing and dancing and eating.

We went our separate paths on New Year’s Day. I had a wonderful Tex Mex breakfast with Jamie, Ben, and Katie. Then Jamie and I met Alicia at Gruene (pronounced “green”) Dance Hall for some wonderful live music. It was the most Texas place I’ve ever been.

I had a lovely time with my friends. It’s weird to think that it’s been a year since I’ve seen them. Luckily we have multiple weddings to reunite us in 2012!

