I’m back!

by Sarah Luna

After three months of near-constant travel and looming deadlines, I have presented the results of my efforts at a national conference and submitted my grant proposal. Here I am in front of my poster at EB along with members of our lab group.

May 1st was my mega-deadline–the deadline that I had been working towards and focusing on since November. Now that it’s come and gone I feel strangely untethered to my academic pursuits.

Last weekend was also my last ballroom competition of the year. I danced with my partner Dean for all four dance categories (Smooth, Standard, Rhythm, and Latin).

Here’s a picture of us dancing a Standard dance. We got 5th place in Syllabus Viennese Waltz and 6th place in Gold Smooth Waltz/Foxtrot/Tango.

 

Here’s a picture of us doing a Rhythm dance. We got 1st place in Silver Cha Cha/Rumba and 4th place in Mambo/Swing.

“What’s next?” you might ask. First of all, I have a lot of catching up to do with family and friends. I haven’t had a real conversation with many of you since before I went to Rwanda.  Much of that was due to the challenges of being in a developing country, but a part was that I simply didn’t know how to talk about what I had experienced. Now that I have some time to breathe, I’ll be calling people. 🙂

I have some upcoming goals and deadlines that I’ll talk about here soon. In the meantime, I’ll be getting ready to fly to California for one of my best friend’s weddings!

